top of page

Meet the Author: Andy Peloquin!


Today's author could be seen as a clash of multiple contradictions all rolled into one person. But it seems to have worked in his favor, producing someone with a magnetic personality and a real talent for writing stories that readers love. I admire his drive and his ability to make sure that he takes time for his art every day. There is a lesson in that for everyone who wants to succeed at something they love to do. I hope you enjoy getting to know him as much as I did: meet Andy Peloquin!

Tell us a little about yourself. What made you choose to be a writer and who are you when you aren't writing?

That's a lot of question to answer!

I am a bit of an odd amalgamation. At 6' 6", I'm built like a linebacker, but I'm more geek/nerd than jock. I'm a practicing martial artist, bodybuilder, certified fitness trainer, video gamer, TV addict, board game lover, DnD player, and comic book fan. In addition to novels, I write comic book scripts--coming soon!

What made me choose writing? I'm a creative person by nature, but with no skills in arts, crafts, painting, sculpting, or anything else "artistic" I had no outlet. When I discovered my love of the written word (as a child), it made perfect sense for me to become a writer. I try to tell the stories I would love to read.

Tell us about your book!

My book is a beautifully dark story that looks at what drives an assassin to kill. In this case,

it's a half-demon assassin. He has no memory of his past, an endless need to bring death, and a long life that has allowed him to see the worst of humankind. And yet there is still a touch of humanity within him. He has a soft, protective side. Woe to anyone who harms those he cares for!

What is your writing process?

I set aside an hour or so every afternoon to write. It doesn't have to be at a certain time, but it does have to be at least an hour of undisturbed time. It takes me 6 to 10 weeks to write a rough draft of the book, and, once done, I let that draft sit while moving on to the next book. I come back to polish it, send it out to beta readers, and keep working on the next books. By the time Book 1 (my current book) was published, I was 90% done with Book 2 and 60% done with Book 3. Now, as I'm waiting for Book 2 to be published, I'm working on the first draft of Book 4. It keeps things humming along smoothly, and always keeps me inspired to see what comes next.

What can we expect from you in the future?

The series I'm currently working on (The Last Bucelarii) will be six books, with a trilogy set in the same universe but revolving around a different character. Once those nine are complete, I am considering writing a more epic fantasy series, but also set in the same world.

What do you like to do to relax?

As I said above, I love video games, TV shows, and board games. Granted, I get VERY competitive when I play against others. I dislike the video games that require patience and stealth (like Hitman or Assassin's Creed), but I'm very much a "run and gun" type of player.

What else do you want us to know about you?

On April 2nd and 3rd, I will be hosting a Facebook party to celebrate the giveaway of my book (Blade of the Destroyer). It's open to the public, and there will be all sorts of awesome games, prizes, freebies, and announcements. The more the merrier!

I want to thnak Andy for the interview, and I would encourage everyone to try and pop in for his event next month. On top of games, prizes, and all of the other awesome stuff he has is store, it is also a great opportunity to chat with more authors and connect with other readers who love Indie books! If you want more information on Andy, his work, or this event, please follow him on:

Author Bio:

Andy Peloquin--a third culture kid to the core--has loved to read since before he could remember. Sherlock Holmes, the Phantom of the Opera, and Father Brown are just a few of the books that ensnared his imagination as a child.

When he discovered science fiction and fantasy through the pages of writers like Edgar Rice Burroughs, J.R.R Tolkien, and Orson Scott Card, he was immediately hooked and hasn't looked back since.

Reading—and now writing—is his favorite escape, and it provides him an outlet for his innate creativity. He is an artist; words are his palette.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me!
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic

© 2015 by C.E. Vance. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page