top of page

Meet the Author: Marnie Cate!


Our featured author today is the lovely Marnie Cate! Not only is she a very sweet person and a member of the group, The Awethors, she is also the brilliant mind behind a beautiful book featured on my Awesome Indies page entitled Remember: Protectors of the Elemental Magic.

I had a chance to talk with Marnie and ask her to help us get to know her a little better. I think most writers start as daydreamers, and Marnie is no exception. Enjoy!

Tell us a little about yourself! What made you choose to be a writer, and who are you when you aren't writing?

I grew up in Montana and the relocated to Arizona. In between, I spent time chasing someone else's dreams. I wrote when I was young but it was never anything I thought I would want to do. I loved reading from an early age and could never get enough books to read.

One day, I had an image form in my mind and I thought this would be an interesting story. So in 2011, I began my first story - Remember. Who am I when I am not writing? I will have to get back to you on that when I figure that out.

What made you choose Indie publishing?

I knew I had a good story and I was too impatient to go through the find a publisher process. When I heard that I could do it on my own, I dived into the world of indie authors. I have been lucky along the way to meet the Awethors and learn from my fellow writers. The reality of writing is that most of us will not make millions but there are so many fantastic stories being written by indie authors that maybe one day soon that will change.

Tell us about your book! Also, if you had to pick a character in your story that you relate to the most, which one would it be and why?

My book is about Mara, a young woman, who learns that her family has been gifted with elemental magic. My first book Remember is the story of Mara's path as she learns what it really means. It is a story about love -- of family and a romantic interest. Beginnings is the back story that answers why are we protecting the magic.

Mara is probably who I relate to the most. Unfortunately, she has my impatience and moodiness. She is full of self doubt. Her love for her grandmother and sister are all from my heart. Life me, she is a work in progress.

Do you have any advice for new authors? Would you encourage them to look at self-publishing?

You have heard it before but write for yourself. Write the story you want to read. Self-publishing is a great way to get started but there are small publishers out there that are there to help.

Marnie Cate Biogaphy

Marnie Cate was born and raised in Montana before adventuring to the warmer states of Arizona and California. Her love of Dame Judi Dench and dreams of caticorns and rainbows inspired her to chase her dreams. One great sentence came to mind and the world of elemental magic and the humans they lived amongst filled her mind. With her first book Remember: Protectors of the Elemental Magic, the story has just begun.

Where to Buy:

http://www.amazon.com/dp/B00UEW0ZJ0/

Facebook:

Amazon:

Goodreads:

Twitter:

Remember: Protectors of the Elemental Magic is a Teen/Young Adult book and is appropriate for most audiences.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me!
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic

© 2015 by C.E. Vance. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page