top of page

Author Interview: Jason Greensides!


I have to tell you that I'm really excited about this new feature of my blog. I've decided that at least once a month (sometimes more) I will be doing interviews with other authors in the Indie community! Now I know that I can be pretty amazing myself, but let’s face it, even I am not that interesting all the time. There’s a great big world of books out there, and my tiny contribution doesn’t even scratch the surface of the variety available in this literary wonderland. So let’s get to know someone new!

I am honored to introduce you all to Jason Greensides, author of The Distant Sound of Violence. I'm right in the middle of this book, but I can tell you already that I love it! Here is the blurb:

Do we ever escape the decisions we make when we’re fifteen? Nathan Dawes, the loser from school, an outsider, street philosopher and member of The Grove Runners gang, needs Ryan’s help to get Stephanie to fall for him. When Ryan’s lawnmower is stolen, Nathan sees this as his chance to enlist Ryan in his plan. Although Ryan knows becoming friends with Nathan could lead to trouble, he reluctantly agrees to help. Stephanie wants nothing to do with either of them. Besides, she’s more interested in the one guy in the world she really shouldn’t be. As Nathan continues his pursuit of Stephanie, and Ryan gets mixed up with The Grove Runners, soon events overtake them all, haunting their lives for years to come. Part coming of age, part mystery, The Distant Sound of Violence is a heartbreaking tale of bad decisions and love gone wrong. It’s about choices that lead to violence, loss and tragedy.

I had the chance to ask Jason some questions, and as you will see, he is funny, sarcastic, and intelligent … everything you would expect from the writer of a novel like this. Enjoy!

Tell us a little about you: where you’re from, what you do for a living. Favorite food, hobbies? What makes you ... you?

You’re cooking an intricate meal with seven different timings. The dog’s barking, your other half is walking through the front door and complaining about work, and the kids are moaning they don’t want to eat no veg. The pasta boils over, the bacon is burning, and your youngest needs help with their homework. The phone rings. No one is about to answer it. You switch off the hobs, turn the oven down, dry your hands and pick up the phone.

An annoying, chirpy, and overfamiliar male voice, says, ‘Good evening. My name’s…’

That’s me.

I’m from a city called Norwich in the East of England, but now I’m living in London. I work in a call centre. I eat really badly and I’m under the illusion that nourishing my brain with books may off-set my really bad diet.

What makes me me?

I write. That is my focus. I’ve always been creative, though. I’ve played bass guitar in several bands, made a few short films, but writing fiction has become my real passion.

What made you choose Indie publishing?

Well it’s there, isn’t? It’s possible. Might as well. Got rejected from those agents, didn’t I?

How did you come up with the idea for The Distant Sound of Violence?

I wrote a 600 word short story that focused on the diverging paths of two boys. The protagonist, the narrator, was a ‘normal’ kid; the other boy was intelligent, philosophic, weirdly stylish but bad at finding a girlfriend. That relationship between those two boys is an important dynamic for me. So important I knew I could write a book revolving around it. That became the lynchpin and key relationship in the The Distant Sound of Violence.

The Distant Sound of Violence has had some pretty great reviews! How has this affected you as a writer?

I don’t think it has affected me as a writer. I’m going to write what I write, regardless. I already know that every book is different and poses its own challenges, so I’m under no illusion that simply having good reviews is a magical gateway to writing another well-received novel. In fact I begin writing a novel not thinking how good I can make it, but how less bad I can make it.

Have you had bad reviews or criticism, and how do you handle that?

In some dark recess on the Internet, a couple of people said that the second half of my book was “tedious,” and the end was “almost unreadable.” You might as well just admit to yourself some people aren’t going to like your book, and there’s nothing you can do about it. Some people are going to hate your first chapter, let alone anything else. No point worrying. The way I look at it, if people are saying bad things about your book, it means you’re being read. That’s really all that matters.

Your story has some unique characters, all with different personalities. Is there a character you relate to more than the others? Why? Which one is the most opposite to you?

I relate to them all. I’m sure there’s something in me in all of them. I relate to Nathan, the main character, but that’s not saying much… Most opposite to me might be Iris, Nathan’s mother. She’s well-adjusted, despite her own traumas… Dwain, the leader of The Grove Runners is opposite me, too. He’s pretty obnoxious. I’m not like that at all. If I went up to him all smiles and asked, “Hi, how are ya?” he’d probably boff me over the head and tell me I wasn’t black enough.

What type of books do you enjoy reading? Current read?

I love literary fiction. Well, I say that, literary fiction like all other genres can suck and be really boring too. I’d rather read a boring horror or thriller than a boring literary book… I’m currently reading Dostoevsky’s Crime and Punishment. He’s one of those authors you fear. He just seems so daunting. Then you start reading him and it’s not even a hard read. It’s really enjoyable and quite often funny. He’s a deeply modern writer.

Lately, of course, since self-publishing, I’m enjoying a lot of Indie books. Many of them are great. What you get there, though, is a strange and new reading experience from the fact you may have interacted with the author online. This adds another layer and form of experience to the book, one you could never get with some traditionally published work of some author you know nothing about.

Do you have any other current or upcoming titles you’d like to tell us about?

For now, it’s only the short story I’ve written called Even Silence has an Echo which will be featured in our Awethors anthology. Other than that, I’m working on my second novel, which won’t be out until sometime next year. That too is another coming-of-age mystery, this time about the investigation into the suicide of a young boy.

Thank you so much for having me, C E. It’s been a pleasure! (And cathartic too, if I’m honest. “Tedious” and “unreadable”! What!!!!!!! Hahahaha)

And thank-you to Jason. It was an honour to have you as my first interview victim and to have your book be the first adult title featured on this site!

Jason’s debut novel, The Distant Sound of Violence, is only $0.99/£0.99 Amazon Kindle Countdown promotion between Tuesday, September 29th and Sunday, October 4th.

*I do have to mention that this is an adult novel, and would not be suitable for young readers. But if you are in the mood for a book with real depth, dynamic characters, and a delightfully dark edge, then this is the one for you!

Author Bio:

Jason Greensides has a degree in Video Production and Film Studies and has made several short films, two of which have been broadcast on television – but writing fiction is his real passion.

He’s interested in ‘outsider’ types, people operating on the edge of society. This inspired him to write his first novel, The Distant Sound of Violence. It’s about a group of kids, one in particular, Nathan Dawes, whose philosophical obsessions and criminal connections have made him an outcast at school.

Jason is now working on his second novel, another coming-of-age mystery, but on coffee breaks he blogs and tweets about writing, and throws in the occasional book review.

Other links:

Jason’s Website: jasongreensides.com

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me!
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic

© 2015 by C.E. Vance. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page