top of page

Meet the Author: L E Fitzpatrick!


Today's author is a lifelong writer and is also a fantastic editor. She is our second featured author to have her work re-published through Booktrope, an amazing publishing platform that brings Indie authors together with editors, cover artists, and a marketing team to achieve the common goal of making a book succesful.

She is a key member of the Awethors group, and was a huge part of making their anthologies a success. It's easy to say that she is very beloved in the Indie community, and it's my pleasure to introduce you to her. Please welcome L E Fitzpatrick!

Tell us a little about yourself. What made you choose to be a writer and who are you when you aren't writing?

Being a writer, for me was never a choice. I have always written. From the moment I could write I wrote stories and it’s just a part of me that has never gone away. I write most days and when I don’t get to write I get cranky.

This year I’ve been very lucky to be in a position to give up a full time job to concentrate on writing and also on my editing business. I’ve been editing for a long time but have recently been working with a number of publishing companies for their authors and gathering a few of my own. I love the work, you meet some incredibly talented people and it’s a privilege to be part of their creative process.

Being a full time writer and editor though can get a bit lonely, especially as I work from home – just me and the dog – so I also took on a little job in a local fine dining restaurant to keep me out of trouble and stop me being a hermit. When I’m not writing I’m there, or spending time with my son and partner.

Tell us about your book!

THE RUNNING GAME is the first in a paranormal series set in dystopian London. It was originally self-published back in 2013 but amazingly Booktrope Publishers decided to sign it and after a revamp it’s now being re-released under their label.

The story is about Rachel, a young doctor with psychic powers. She’s hiding from the government and a criminal underworld who want to use her powers against their enemies. This thriller is action packed, dark, and tense.

If you had to pick a character in your story that you relate to the most, which

one would it be and why?

I relate a little to each of the characters. In fact they’re probably all caricatures to aspects of my own personality. Charlie is incredibly self-absorbed and damaged, Rachel is clear headed and practical, Roxy is the nonchalant joker, and John… well John is that bit of us all that would just love to murder our enemies in their sleep.

What makes your work unique?

The darkness in my stories. I’m not totally sure where this darkness comes from, but all of my stories and characters are touched by it. There’s bitterness, anguish, and desperation in most of my work, but it’s also driven by an extremely dark British sense of humour.

How did you choose your cover art?

Originally I made my own covers and still do for my short stories – mainly because I’m too cheap to pay an artist. But Booktrope hooked me up with an incredible designer – Ashley Ruggirello – and she did THE RUNNING GAME cover for me.

Thanks for the interview, L E! If you want to find out more about L E Fitzpatrick, The Running Game, or any works in prgress, please visit the following links:

L E Fitzpatrick Biography

L E Fitzpatrick is a writer of dark adventure stories and thrillers. Under the watchful eye of her beloved rescue Staffordshire Bull Terrier, she leaps from trains and climbs down buildings, all from the front room of a tiny cottage in the middle of the Welsh countryside.

Inspired by cult film and TV, L E Fitzpatrick’s fiction is a collection of twisted worlds and realities, broken characters, and high action. She enjoys pushing the boundaries of her imagination and creating hugely entertaining stories.

The Running Game, her latest book and the first installment of her dystopian Reacher series, is due for re-release under the Booktrope label.


Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Me!
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic

FOLLOW ME

  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic

© 2015 by C.E. Vance. Proudly created with Wix.com

bottom of page